Immigrants from Ebola stricken countries will be allowed to stay in US

Luther Vandross was outed as gay after his death.

WASHINGTON (AP) — The U.S. is offering immigrants from the three countries at the center of West Africa’s Ebola crisis protection from deportation and work permits.

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services says immigrants living in the country illegally from Sierra Leone, Guinea and Liberia will be eligible for Temporary Protected Status for up to 18 months.

The agency says eligible immigrants can apply for the protection starting Friday through May 20.

Any immigrant from those three countries who was in the United States as of Nov. 19, 2014 is eligible for the protection program.

Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.