JAY-Z to be honored with President’s Award at NAACP Image Awards

Issa Rae, Viola Davis, Lupita Nyong'o, and Danai Guria are a few famous faces who will serve as presenters.

(Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)

The NAACP Image Awards will commemorate its 50th year this weekend and JAY-Z will be honored with the coveted President’s Award.

The President’s Award is presented in recognition of a special achievement and distinguished public service and will be presented by NAACP President, Derrick Johnson.  Past recipients include Jesse Jackson, Lauryn Hill, Soledad O’Brien, Colin Powell, Condoleezza Rice, and Muhammad Ali among others.

“The President’s Award is an honor we carefully bestow upon an individual, maintaining its significance and commitment to recognizing excellence in service that directly affects our community,” says Johnson. “Shawn Carter has been committed to shedding light on the issues that plague the black community including systematic racism and unjust treatment under the law, utilizing his global platform to create everlasting change. There is no better time than now, as we celebrate our 50th year, to honor him with this award.”

The annual awards show will air live from the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles on Saturday, March 30 on TVOne and we expect to see tons of famous faces gracing the stage.

Newly announced presenters at the NAACP Image Awards include Cynthia Erivo, Danai Gurira, Issa Rae, Jimmy O. Yang, John Legend, Laura Harrier, Lupita Nyong’o, Marsai Martin, Mike Epps, Regina Hall, Ron Stallworth, Sanaa Lathan, Stephan James, Van Jones, Vin Diesel, Viola Davis, and Winston Duke. They join a long list of previously announced presenters including Kerry Washington, KiKi Layne, Lena Waithe, Letitia Wright, Malinda Williams, Mike Colter, Roshon Fegan, Thandie Newton, Tika Sumpter, and Trevor Noah.

Black leaders call for Jussie Smollett’s NAACP Image Award nom to be rescinded

For all information and the latest news, please visit the official NAACP Image Awards website at www.naacpimageawards.net or on Facebook at naacpimageaward and Twitter @naacpimageaward (#ImageAwards50).