37th Stellar Gospel Music Awards winners announced

Pastor Mike Jr. led all winners with six trophies, while CeCe Winans took home three awards at the annual salute to gospel music.

Loading the player...

Pastor Mike Jr. was the big winner at the 37th Stellar Gospel Music Awards, earning six trophies  — the most wins of the night — out of eight nominations.

The singer won in categories that include Artist of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Contemporary Male Artist of the Year, Contemporary Album of the Year and Urban/Inspirational Single or Performance of the Year, as well as Album of the Year for “I Got It: Single’s Ministry Vol. 1.”

Pastor Mike, Jr. was the big winner at the 37th Stellar Gospel Music Awards, earning six trophies out of eight nominations. (Photo provided by BET)

CeCe Winans, Jonathan McReynolds and Mali Music each won three awards. Winans’ album, “Believe For It,” helped her win Producer of the Year, Praise and Worship Album of the Year as well as Praise and Worship Song of the Year. Winans led all nominees with a total of nine nominations.

McReynolds and Mali Music’s collaborative EP, “Jonny x Mali: Live in L.A. EP,” won Duo/Chorus Group of the Year, Contemporary Duo/Chorus Group of the Year and Special Event Album of the Year. Tamela Mann and Ricky Dillard each won two awards as well.

Dillard received the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award. Singer Candi Staton was given the Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award and producer Aaron Lindsey received the Aretha Franklin Icon Award.

The ceremony also included some of today’s best and brightest performances in gospel music, including Kirk Franklin, Erica Campbell, Maverick City Music, Marvin Sapp, Tye Tribbett, Le’Andria Johnson, Koryn Hawthorne, Brian Courtney Wilson, Jor’Dan Armstrong, Doe, Rudy Currence, Chrisette Michele, Darrel Walls and James Fortune. 

The 37th Stellar Gospel Music Awards was recorded live on July 16 at Atlanta’s Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre and will air on Aug. 7 at 8 p.m. ET on BET, BET Her and BET International.

Stellar Award-winning artists Jekalyn Carr and Kierra Sheard hosted the ceremony.

TheGrio is FREE on your TV via Apple TV, Amazon Fire, Roku, and Android TV. Please download theGrio mobile apps today! 

Loading the player...