LISTEN: Childish Gambino drops two new summer tracks

"Summertime Magic" is the first single from Gambino's upcoming album from RCA.

Donald Glover
(Photo by Rich Fury/Getty Images)

Childish Gambino is full of surprises and his latest came in the form of two new summer singles. The rapper/ actor/ director dropped the songs with no advanced notice and so far, fans are eating them up.

“Summertime Magic” and “Feels Like Summer” were released via Twitter and a press release followed shortly after. In it, “Summertime Magic” was confirmed as the first single from Gambino’s upcoming debut album through RCA Records. There’s still no release date set for the highly-anticipated project, but we’re guessing it will hit before he hits the road alongside Rae Sremmurd and Vince Staples for their North American tour that kicks off on September 6 in Atlanta.

Nigerian rapper brilliantly recreates Childish Gambino’s ‘This is America’ video for ‘This is Nigeria’

Even though Donald Glover has been saying he would be retiring his rap moniker Childish Gambino for months, it looks like he plans to release the next album under the name. Considering the impact of his previous release, “This Is America,” we’re looking forward to major statements when the project drops.

Did Childish Gambino plagiarize elements of ‘This is America’?

Donald Glover may be Black Hollywood’s golden boy at the moment but the integrity of his rap alter ego has been called into question by fans who noticed similarities between “This Is America” and a song by lesser-known rapper Jase Harley.

Some have noted that there are clear elements from American Pharaoh, which was released on Harley’s 2016 album Free Pxrn: The Memoir of an American Heathen that are almost impossible to deny. “This Is America” came out two years later amassed almost 300 million YouTube views, and isn’t just about same subject matter it also has that same instrumental and vocal inflection that is now instantly associated with Childish Gambino.

Let’s hope these new jams steer clear of controversy.

Take a listen to the new songs, below:

“Summertime Magic”

“Feels Like Summer”