Amandla Stenberg, John David Washington, Ryan Coogler and more honored at The Hollywood Film Awards

Michael B. Jordan honored Ryan Coogler at the annual event.

Ryan Coogler
(Photo by Alberto E. Rodriguez/Getty Images for HFA)

A few of our favorite stars including Amandla Stenberg and John David Washington were honored at the 22nd Annual Hollywood Film Awards in Beverly Hills on Sunday night.

The annual event took place at The Beverly Hilton and was hosted by Crazy Rich Asians star, Awkwafina.

EXCLUSIVE: Amandla Stenberg and Amma Asante on ‘Where Hands Touch’

The night’s highlights included Taraji P. Henson praising the talents of John David Washington who was honored with the “Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award.” Denzel’s son has had quite the year with critically-acclaimed performances in Spike Lee‘s BlacKkKlansman and Monsters and Men.

This Is Us star, Sterling K. Brown presented the “Hollywood Breakout Ensemble” award to the cast of Crazy Rich Asians before Janelle Monae took the stage to present The Hate U Give star, Amandla Stenberg was honored with the “Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award.”

Why Amandla Stenberg says ‘The Hate U Give’ movie is making white people cry

Things got even better when Michael B. Jordan came out to honor his famous friends; Black Panther producer Nate Moore and director Ryan Coogler with the “Hollywood Film Award.”  He took time to share his thoughts on the powerful film he starred in, saying, “for everyone with African roots, it spoke to us on an intensely powerful level.”

Check out the full list of winners:

“Hollywood Career Achievement Award”

Nicole Kidman, presented by Shailene Woodley


“Hollywood Film Award”

Black Panther, presented by Michael B. Jordan


“Hollywood Actress Award”

Glenn Close for The Wife, presented by Christian Slater


“Hollywood Actor Award”

Hugh Jackman for The Front Runner, presented by Anne Hathaway


“Hollywood Supporting Actor Award”

Timothée Chalamet for Beautiful Boy, presented by Armie Hammer

“Hollywood Ensemble Award”

Viggo Mortensen, Mahershala Ali, Linda Cardellini for Green Book, presented by Octavia Spencer

“Hollywood Breakout Ensemble Award”

Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh, Gemma Chan, Lisa Lu, Awkwafina, Ken Jeong, Sonoya Mizuno, Chris Pang, Jimmy O. Yang, Ronny Chieng, Remi Hii, Nico Santos for Crazy Rich Asians, presented by Sterling K. Brown

“Hollywood Breakout Performance Actress Award”

Amandla Stenberg for The Hate U Give, presented by Janelle Monáe


“Hollywood Breakout Performance Actor Award”

John David Washington for BlakKklansman, presented by Taraji P. Henson


“New Hollywood Actress Award”

 Yalitza Aparicio for Roma, presented by Danny Huston


“Hollywood Director Award”

Damien Chazelle for First Man, presented by Ryan Gosling


“Hollywood Screenwriter Award”

Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga, Brian Hayes Currie for Green Book, presented by Michael Keaton


Hollywood Breakthrough Director Award”

Felix van Groeningen for Beautiful Boy, presented by Brad Pitt


“Hollywood Documentary Award”

Believer, presented by Adam Lambert


“Hollywood Animation Award”

Incredibles 2, presented by Sophia Bush


“Hollywood Cinematography Award”

Matthew Libatique for A Star Is Born


“Hollywood Film Composer Award”

Justin Hurwitz for First Man


“Hollywood Editor Award”

Tom Cross for First Man


“Hollywood Visual Effects Award”

Dan Deleeuw, Kelly Port, Russell Earl, Dan Sudick for Avengers: Infinity War


“Hollywood Costume Design Award”

Sandy Powell for The Favourite


“Hollywood Make-Up & Hair Styling Award”

Jenny Schircore, Sarah Kelly, Hannah Edwards for Mary Queen of Scots


“Hollywood Production Design Award”

Hannah Beachler for Black Panther


“Hollywood Sound Award”

Erik Aadahl, Ethan Van der Ryn, Brandon Proctor for A Quiet Place