TheGrio, along with Keke Palmer, Michelle Obama and others win 2024 Webby Awards

"Being Black: The '80s," a show from theGrio, won in the category of History Podcasts.

The Webby Awards are set to return next month for another celebration honoring the internet’s biggest sensations, cultural icons and organizations making their digital mark on the world.

Keke Palmer is among the digital creators selected for a Special Achievement Award at the 2024 Webby Awards. Above, she attends the Fragrance Foundation Awards last June at Lincoln Center. (Photo: Noam Galai/Getty Images)

The International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, which will hosts the 28th annual awards ceremony, announced a star-studded list of winners Tuesday. They include include theGrio’s “Being Black: The ’80s,” hosted by Touré, which won in the category of History Podcasts. The show spends each season “deconstructing the most popular Black music of the decade, including what was happening in Black America at each moment in time.”

Other winners among the talk show hosts, musicians, actors and other creatives included former first lady Michelle Obama. Rappers Megan Thee Stallion, Jay-Z and Snoop Dogg captured awards, as well as actors Michael B. Jordan, Laverne Cox, Katt Williams and Lisa “Corporate Erin” Beasley.

The winners “represent work at the cutting edge of creativity and innovation,” said Claire Graves, Webby Awards president. “They are best-in-class creators, entrepreneurs, and companies who are taking giant strides to make something entirely new to entertain, help or inform people” via the internet.

Keke Palmer is among the digital creators selected for this year’s Special Achievement Award. Her ability to resonate with audiences and cultural contributions as an actress, singer, activist and entrepreneur earned her the honor. Palmer’s two most recent online platforms, “Baby, This Is Keke Palmer” and KeyTV Network, will be highlighted to illustrate her success as a generational entertainer.

Recommended Stories

Shannon Sharpe is being recognized for his contributions on and off the field. The NFL Hall of Famer will receive the Webby’s Advocate of the Year award for his impact on sports commentary, the success of his “Club Shay Shay” program and his advocacy for racial equality, education and health.

The 28th Webby Awards will be held on Monday, May 13, with comedian Amber Ruffin hosting the ceremony.

Check out the complete list of honorees here.